Feb 06

We Are Not Good People – Jeff Somers

About the Book From the “exhilarating, powerful, and entertaining” (Guardian) storyteller of the Avery Cates series comes a gritty supernatural thriller featuring a pair of unlikely heroes caught up in the underground world of blood magic. The ethics in a world of blood are gray—and an underground strata of blood magicians has been engineering disasters …

Continue reading »

Feb 04

And the winners are…

Thanks so much for everyone who entered the Kushiel’s Dart giveaway. The three winners have been selected, and the publisher has been notified. They are…. 1. Shelly from Virginia 2. Mary from Arizona 3. Patti from Tennessee Congratulations to the winners, and thanks to everyone who participated!!

Feb 03

Owl and the Japanese Circus – Kristi Charish

About the Book Fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, and Linda Hamilton will flock to the kick-ass world of Owl, a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. Ex-archaeology grad student turned international antiquities thief, Alix—better known now as Owl—has one rule. No supernatural jobs. Ever. Until she crosses paths with Mr. …

Continue reading »

Jan 29

Books I’m Eyeing

It’s been a long time since I’ve done one of these. This is my way to point out books that look interesting to me, and give the reviewers I respect so much a bit of a nod in the process. What books are you eyeing? — King of Morning, Queen of Day – Ian McDonald …

Continue reading »

Jan 27

Karen Memory – Elizabeth Bear

About the Book “You ain’t gonna like what I have to tell you, but I’m gonna tell you anyway. See, my name is Karen Memery, like memory only spelt with an e, and I’m one of the girls what works in the Hôtel Mon Cherie on Amity Street. Hôtel has a little hat over the …

Continue reading »

Jan 26

Unbound – Jim C. Hines

About the Book For five hundred years, the Porters have concealed the existence of magic from the world. Now, old enemies have revealed the Porters’ secrets, and an even greater threat lurks in the shadows. The would-be queen Meridiana, banished for a thousand years, has returned in the body of a girl named Jeneta Aboderin. …

Continue reading »

Jan 21

GIVEAWAY | Three (3) copies of KUSHIEL’S DART

Kushiel’s Dart is a book I read years ago, and instantly fell in love with. The writing is absolutely stunning. The story is luscious and full of texture and surprises. The world building is both sensational and sensual. Throw in a strong female protagonist with an unforgettable voice, and you have something incredible on your …

Continue reading »

Jan 19

Oh, the (good) drama….

Well, if you’ve been around good ol’ Bookworm Blues for long enough, you’ll realize that the health drama never really ends with me. Around August 4 of this year, we will be welcoming another Bookworm Jr. This pregnancy is a (huge, HUGE) surprise. It’s never a “small” thing for anyone. I get to start my …

Continue reading »

Jan 14

Misunderstandings, Coping, and Invisible Illnesses

Warning: This is going to be a personal rant. Absolutely zero book related content. The other day a complete stranger said to me, “Why do you need help with that? Are you lazy or something?” That comment hurt a lot more than that woman will ever realize. The sad thing is, I get a variation …

Continue reading »

Jan 14

The Just City – Jo Walton

About the Book “Here in the Just City you will become your best selves. You will learn and grow and strive to be excellent.” Created as an experiment by the time-traveling goddess Pallas Athene, the Just City is a planned community, populated by over ten thousand children and a few hundred adult teachers from all eras …

Continue reading »

Older posts «

» Newer posts