I am a book blogger and the owner of Bookworm Blues - a popular speculative fiction book review website. I have been a compulsive reader all my life. Early on found my reading niche in the fantastic genre of Speculative Fiction. I blame my active imagination for the hobbies that threaten to consume my life. A freelance writer and photographer, world traveler and recent college graduate, I'm also a new mother, cancer fighter & survivor. In my ideal world, I'd do nothing but drink lots of tea and read from a never ending pile of speculative fiction books. Respected as a reviewer, I receive book ARCs from all of the major and most minor publishers in science fiction and fantasy. But given my love of stories, I've always wanted to be a part of the creative process, and editing is my first step in that direction.

Review | Winter’s Orbit – Everina Maxwell

Ancillary Justice meets Red, White & Royal Blue in Everina Maxwell’s exciting debut. While the Iskat Empire has long dominated the system through treaties and political alliances, several planets, including Thea, have begun to chafe under Iskat’s rule. When tragedy befalls Imperial Prince Taam, his Thean widower, Jainan, is rushed into an arranged marriage with Taam’s cousin, the…

Continue Reading

Editing | On Writing Disabilities

I’ve been hemming and hawing over writing a post about this for a while. I keep coming across the same issues over and over again when I edit so I figured it’s time. Today, I want to talk a bit about writing disabilities, some things to keep in mind when you do, and some things…

Continue Reading

Review | A Marvellous Light – Freya Marske

About the Book Set in an alternative Edwardian England, this is a comedy of manners, manor houses, and hedge mazes: including a magic-infused murder mystery and a delightful queer romance. For fans of Georgette Heyer or Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton, who’d like to welcome magic into their lives . . . Young baronet Robin Blyth thought he…

Continue Reading

Review | Reign & Ruin – J.D. Evans

About the Book “All magic is beautiful,” she said, “and terrible. Do you not see the beauty in yours, or the terror in mine? You can stop a heart, and I can stop your breath.”  She is heir to a Sultanate that once ruled the world. He is an unwanted prince with the power to…

Continue Reading

Review | The Book Eaters – Sunyi Dean

About the Book Out on the Yorkshire Moors lives a secret line of people for whom books are food, and who retain all of a book’s content after eating it. To them, spy novels are a peppery snack; romance novels are sweet and delicious. Eating a map can help them remember destinations, and children, when…

Continue Reading

Guest Post | Rebekah Teller on The Opera of Peace

This lively poetry wanders the forest of the mind, battling to shine light on unconditional love and the politics of woodland creatures. Poetry was something I always kept private. I started writing in middle school, wrote more in high school, some in college. As I got older, I wrote less and less, until it was…

Continue Reading

Review | The Art of Prophecy – Wesley Chu

About the Book An epic fantasy ode to martial arts and magic—the story of a spoiled hero, an exacting grandmaster, and an immortal god-king from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Lives of Tao. It has been foretold: A child will rise to defeat the Eternal Khan, a cruel immortal god-king, and…

Continue Reading

Personal Update | It just keeps happening…

I’ve debated on how much to say about any of this, and while I’m not terribly comfortable talking about it right now, I also feel like normalizing disability and chronic illness is extremely important, and one of the ways we do that is by talking about it. So, let me talk to you, dear reader,…

Continue Reading

Audiobook | Research, Part I

As I promised, I’m going to be documenting this audiobook process from the ground up with nauseating detail and a lot of transparency and I finally feel like I have something to say. (If you’d like to read why I’m doing this, click here.) I spent about a week asking people in the industry for…

Continue Reading

Announcement | An audiobook? An audiobook!

As you may or may not know, Hillary and Zack Argyle started an Indie Fantasy Fund. Authors applied for the grant and five were chosen to get $1000 to put toward something like editing, marketing, artwork, audiobooks, etc. The fact of the matter is, going indie is great but it’s not cheap, and this little…

Continue Reading