Tag Archive: four stars

Dec 28

Featured Review | City of Light – Keri Arthur

About the Book The first in an all-new futuristic fantasy series from Keri Arthur—the New York Times bestselling author of the Souls of Fire novels. When the bombs that stopped the species war tore holes in the veil between this world and the next, they allowed entry to the Others—demons, wraiths, and death spirits who turned the …

Continue reading »

Dec 11

Featured Review | Mystic – Jason Denzel

About the Book I called to the Myst, and it sent us you. For hundreds of years, high-born nobles have competed for the chance to learn of the Myst. Powerful, revered, and often reclusive, Mystics have the unique ability to summon and manipulate the Myst: the underlying energy that lives at the heart of the …

Continue reading »

Dec 08

Featured Review| Radiance – Catherynne M. Valente

About the Book Radiance is a decopunk pulp SF alt-history space opera mystery set in a Hollywood—and solar system—very different from our own, from the phenomenal talent behind the New York Times bestselling The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making. Severin Unck’s father is a famous director of Gothic romances …

Continue reading »

Nov 17

Featured Review | Planetfall – Emma Newman

About the Book From the award-nominated author Emma Newman, comes a novel of how one secret withheld to protect humanity’s future might be its undoing… Renata Ghali believed in Lee Suh-Mi’s vision of a world far beyond Earth, calling to humanity. A planet promising to reveal the truth about our place in the cosmos, untainted …

Continue reading »

Nov 03

Featured Review | The Builders – Daniel Polansky

About the Book A missing eye. A broken wing. A stolen country. The last job didn’t end well. Years go by, and scars fade, but memories only fester. For the animals of the Captain’s company, survival has meant keeping a low profile, building a new life, and trying to forget the war they lost. But …

Continue reading »

Nov 03

Featured Review | Dreamseeker – C.S. Friedman

About the Book When Jessica Drake learned that her DNA didn’t match that of her parents, she had no idea that the search for her heritage would put her family’s lives in danger, or force her to cross into another world. In an alternate Earth dominated by individuals with unnatural powers called Gifts, Jessica learned …

Continue reading »

Oct 20

Featured Review | The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss – Max Wirestone

About the Book For fans of The Guild, New Girl, Scott Pilgrim, Big Bang Theory, Veronica Mars, or anyone who has ever geeked out about something. The odds of Dahlia successfully navigating adulthood are 3,720 to 1. But never tell her the odds. Meet Dahlia Moss, the reigning queen of unfortunate decision-making in the St. …

Continue reading »

Oct 19

Book Bites | The Last Witness – K.J. Parker

[notice][/notice] About the Book When you need a memory to be wiped, call me. Transferring unwanted memories to my own mind is the only form of magic I’ve ever mastered. But now, I’m holding so many memories I’m not always sure which ones are actually mine, any more. Some of them are sensitive; all of …

Continue reading »